seventhe: (Cock: GIANT COCKFISTING)
[personal profile] seventhe

Reasoning:

  1. I make amazing money for my age and I should take advantage of that
  2. I am in a good position: owning a house already, partnered but legally single, no dependents
  3. I need my goddamn health insurance so cannot quit
  4. I don't completely loathe what I do yet (it's more like a bipolar disorder relationship).

Plan:

  • live well but frugally for the next 15 years
  • enjoy the shit out of the next 15 years well but responsibly
  • take good care of self and health
  • pay off house
  • save well
  • retire at 50.
  • become actual hermit
  • spend rest of life writing and giving the world the middle finger
  • become millionaire
  • replace body with wheels
  • profit

15 more years at my job gives me the new plant I want - covers everything from engineering to actually flipping the switch to development projects - as well as turnover to build a dynasty (not that I am arrogant BUT I AM but really it's to protect the years invested in the place): I'd literally hit the peak of my career then leave. and, if I work it right, lots of company buffing of my 401k.

50 will be a bit old on my poor broken body, but it's still an age you can do most things: travel, hobbies, open a bar with your friends, etc

The counter-thought is "take your break now" but I'm not in any kind of position health-wise to do so: need insurance, so need (a) job; this job has good/decent insurance; not good at traveling right now; too much house debt to really call off the paychecks. Trust me, it's tempting to toss everything and run to the woods, but it isn't a good place.

But working towards something makes the working seem slightly more palatable

1^0 edit I FORGOT TO MENTION what I want to do with my millions: I want to be a patron of the arts and sciences.

One of the things that sticks out in my memory from my Germany trip - touring an old palace - it's so weird that this was significant - but I was doing the headphones tour of Queen Sophie's palace and there was so much discussion about how royalty and the well-off were patrons -- of arts, sciences, literature, voyages, anything they wanted. It is this weird mindset - and ok I know that historical context etc life was NOT A MAGICAL BETTER BACK IN THAT CENTURY - but in our evolution to what we are now we have really and truly lost that spirit? Rich people don't go and support artists they personally think are cool anymore, or host salons for neat artists to get together, or sponsor someone to write a symphony or a novel, and --- there's something about that concept that really appeals to me.

So after my job and my novels and my millions, I plan to become a patron of the arts and sciences. If you can wait 15 years, you all get first dibs.

2^0 edit im not even drunk guys, seriously

Date: 2016-04-22 02:09 pm (UTC)
thenicochan: {...} from Hanna is Not a Boy's Name (Cecil Kain Highfive)
From: [personal profile] thenicochan
I think the most important thing is definitely to ensure you find ways to enjoy life in the meantime. (Which I totally understand is easier said than done. I struggle with it myself) :)

Date: 2016-04-23 01:29 am (UTC)
lassarina: (Default)
From: [personal profile] lassarina
man, I love this.

If I stay where I'm working now, assuming I clear my debts (and I'm making progress there!), I can retire at 60 with a solid pension, and then I will join you.

Date: 2016-04-26 04:31 am (UTC)
thene: Happy Ponyo looking up from the seabed (Default)
From: [personal profile] thene
it works if you can plausibly claim to be disabled when you begin to draw on your retirement at 50; generally, you get penalised 10% of what you take out if you start pulling from retirement accounts before you're 60. Disability is one of a few exceptions to this.

I hope that, at the same time, you can find a way to enjoy the life you have now. 15 years is a hell of a long time.

Both of my jobs have me teetering around 1%er morons all the time and this provides both tempting and gnarly false images of futures that are pointless anyway. A lot of people have enough money to attempt to support what they care about. Very few have enough to make a deep impact, and most of them are fucking stupid. Even when it comes to patronage, one's eyes must be appropriately sized to one's stomach. You will def do better than most tho; few 1%ers give much of anything except to their alma mater and their preferred religious cult. (I know because I do their tax returns).

Most Popular Tags

Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags