seventhe: (Aziraphale: enjoying)

So oddly enough, even though I'm seeing an increase in my workload, it's getting me on more of a schedule than usual. and because of that I have some PLANS for October.

I've always wanted to do an Inktober, so I'll be doing a drawing-every-day in October. I don't think I'll use prompts, unless I can find a list I like, but I'm doing some kind of doodle/drawing every day. I'll be posting them on Ko-Fi, where you'll be able to leave a prompt with a donation if you want. I don't have any goals other than drawing something fun and posting it every day, so don't get too excited, lmao. On Mon and Tues when I'm with the girls it might be a drawing of my hand as a turkey okay. I don't make the rules

My second plan is for writing. I'm focusing entirely on WIPs this month. I've counted out 15 WIPs (shut UP) on AO3 and in my drafts. My goal is to update at least 7 and finish at least 3. This is actually more reasonable than it sounds; both New Roads and He Thinks Like A King are active right now, and a lot of them have the plot planned and just need the words to go along. They're taking up mental bandwidth and I'd like to clean some of them up. If you want to join me for WIPtober, feel free!

This means the only "new" stuff I'll be posting in October will be what Patreon votes on, if you want to get in on that action. I do have at least 2 more longer fics I'm looking to start, but it won't be this month.

November will be my second attempt at my original novel for NaNoWriMo, and December will be focused on cleaning up WIPs and outstanding commissions.

seventhe: (Edge/Rydia: no return)

i think i've miscalculated a bit on my writing projects.

last year i wrote over 300,000 words, work and fiction and fanfic combined. it was great. so i said, hell, let's go for 350,000 this year (i am a member of Get Your Words Out) and see what happens.

but i kind of got ... locked up. old vines finished early this year, and there it was, the biggest writing project i've ever completed, done. i had a big worry about "what's next" and "do something as big this time." the concept for new roads has been sitting in my backbrain for years (thanks, feral server) and so i said, yeah, this is what's going to come next.

for some reason, it isn't coming. it's still a story i very much want to write, but my head isn't in that place right now. i have a great outline and beats to hit and i open the document up and stare at it for a while, daily, until i just close it again.

i think i've made a mistake with trying to be predictable -- scheduling things. i wanted NR to some out every 10 days, but what that does is stop my brain from working on anything else if i haven't done new roads, even if i can't write NR at the time, and that just ...plugs everything up.

this is why im also taking a break from zines and events -- it's that commitment to a due date, i think? i'm not sure, but like, it feels that way. zine pieces i have to craft to get within the wordcount, which makes them good (IMO), but then you sit on the piece without feedback for a while and it's strange. i've been lucky enough to get into every zine (5? 6?) i've applied for and it's really awesome seeing my work presented as such, but like. i think that's also enough for the time being.

same with He Thinks Like A King, the fratt big bang piece that slots into place in my Marvel / Criminal Minds AU universe. it's so good, so fuckin good, the art i got is amazingly inspiring, and then the time i had set aside to hammer down and finish the fucker up ... vanished when i fell down some fucking stairs. so now i open that one, stare into it, and close it again. HTLAK is going to be some time.

(and yeah, a bunch of commissions. i. uh.)

anyway, i'm way behind on my wordcount for this year, to the point where i fell behind in tracking it, even, because stares into my own brain (accusingly). i know i can catch up but it's only going to happen if i can get myself out of this feeling of writing-for-obligation and back into writing-for-joy.

not quite sure yet HOW to do it, but oh well

seventhe: (Cats: I LIKE THEM)

(content note: me still talking about my damn fall)

In some ways I already live disabled, so there hasn't been a lot of transition. Take meals, for example: because I live with fibro, I already know what frozen things to stock up on that take very little input or effort and provide a tangible delicious reward for putting them into the microwave. I'm always prepared for days that I can't find the fucks to actually make a meal, so the act of preparing for 3-4 weeks where I can't actually make a meal isn't that far from my regular life. Nothing odd there; I already eat a lot of paninis because sandwiches are dumb easy to make and putting a sammich into the panini maker improves its awesomeness by a factor of a lot.

Likewise, I already don't shower daily, because in the last few years my fibro has developed this fun game where there's a one in ten chance that the feeling of water on my skin is going to cause me to break out in painfully itchy hives that make me gruesomely uncomfortable for hours -- so using face and body wipes to stay fresh inbetween isn't that big of an adjustment.

However, not being able to fucking walk wellllll that's a big one

It's goddamned excruciating, the amount of effort it takes to go fill my water bottle, or make a cup of coffee, or even to go have a pee. Not only is it painful, but I'm at the point where I'm just irritable, so it becomes extra irritating on top of everything else. Now, granted, I'm doing a lot better than I was: I still can't walk, but I can stand for short periods of time if I'm braced on something for balance, and I can finally use my heels to help propel and direct the wheelchair, which makes that a bit easier. (Wheelchairing around when you can't use EITHER foot for ANYTHING is HARD WORK.) Getting up and down and moving from one surface to another is becoming more reliable. These are all good things!

But like. Sometimes the right one just aches no matter how I have positioned the boot, and I swear sometimes I can feel the break stitching itself back together, it hurts so much. It'll pulse with sharp jabs of pain and when it's doing that, lifting the foot at all to move the boot is like impossibly painful; I have to use my hands to do a lot of the work. And the left one is feeling better internally, but all the external bruising has finally come to the surface, so even the skin hurts and it's hard to get it comfortable no matter how I arrange it. I've been leaving it in the brace more than last week just as protection for the bruising; I'll probably put it into a compression sock this weekend.

As long as they don't have any bad news at my checkup next Wednesday I think I'm ready to get into those crutches, which I'm very eager to do. I'll have to find a backpack.

This week has been harder than last week. I'm hating the tedium more and just irritable about a lot of stuff. I haven't been able to translate pent-up energy into writing (except last night i guess) and haven't had a lot to distract me other than the Sims 4. I oscillate violently between wanting to do everything myself because I can and just wanting somebody to go make me a cup of coffee so I don't have to move. I drank a lot this week because it was better than sulking but that isn't a habit I really want to rely on during these shenanigans.

I do still at least have the wherewithal to do my paid writing jobs, which is good because I haven't seen the bill for the emergency room yet, but it's probably going to be massive.

<3

seventhe: (Aziraphale: great big bugger)

So last Thursday around 10:00 I had a bad fall and ended up in the emergency room, with both ankles basically busted.

Cut for discussion of injury. yeah )

Can’t really walk. Couldn’t really even stand the first few days without supporting myself on wheelchair / nearby table / couch / something else. Crown helped make the first floor wheelchair accessible and put together one of the basement beds for me to sleep on in my sunroom cause i cant do stairs. Feathers brought me down enough toiletries that I could brush my teeth and actually wear deodorant. My parents came to visit with groceries and fruits and lots of help getting everything set up so that I can survive first-floor-only for a little while.

Check-up with the ortho on Wednesday put me into a boot - good news; boot FAR better than cast! - and predicted about 6 weeks before I’m back to any normal kind of motions, with next check-up in two.

This certainly isn’t my first time impaired — I spent most of my senior year of high school on crutches or in a wheelchair for a variety of reasons. But that’s very different; you have friends at school willing to help you out so that they can use the elevator, and you have parents at home who still do your laundry and get your mail. I’m nearing 40 and don’t live with my husband for a variety of mutual personal reasons, and I’m kind of lucky to have a basement gremlin in Feathers at this point or I would be, just, you know. Boned.

All projects are behind. Drawing? Writing? Don’t know ‘em. Today for the first time I sat down at my desktop while in the wheelchair and while I can make words, it isn’t really that easy, or that comfortable.

My life as a cripple (patent pending) so far has been interesting. I have my grandmother’s wheelchair, which is great because I have it and didn’t have to pay for one, but not so great in that it’s made to be pushed, rather than for self-propelling. And wheeling myself around on carpet also not made for wheelchair ease is, well, fucking exhausting. I better have massive arms after this. I’ve had to rearrange nearly everything so that I can access it without having to stand up. Hell, even a trip to the bathroom is like a 20-minute quest montage from Lord of the Rings.

The poor cats are not adjusting very well at all.

ANYWAY! Friends! I will be literally useless for at least the next 6 weeks. I still plan on putting out fan stuff just to keep my own sanity, but will it be quality? Who knows! Will i open commissions again? Depends on the emergency room bill! Do i consider crying at least once a day? Of course!!

Love, Sev

seventhe: trowasfacewhen.com (Trowa: OH NO)
Buckle up, chucklefucks, cause here comes Ghost Avengers!

GA will update every Friday with 3-5 new pages depending on the flow of the story. (Weeks I get too busy, you’ll still get a placeholder art, info page, or cutscene.) Patreon will see it first, then KoFi, then the public — meaning Patreon will be 2 weeks ahead, and KoFi 1 week ahead!

These first 6 pages will be posted publicly everywhere to celebrate. You can follow on: Patreon —> KoFi —> Tumblr, Instagram —> AO3 (once i figure out final hosting, AO3 will be the most readable archive).

See the Ghost Avengers carrd for links on where to follow!

Patreon Chucklefucks at all levels will be able to see the comic. Patrons in Suggestion ($3) and Voting ($5) tiers will get to suggest and vote on outtakes, minor story directions, placeholder requests, and so on, as per each level.

This story concept has existed since 04 October, 2018, according to Google Docs. I’ve worked out where I want it to go, and I’m excited to be putting it onto the page in this new format! Bear with me while things get rolling.

I'm not an artist; that should be obvious. But I'd like to be. And the way to do that is practice, and the way to practice is to be motivated to do something. And thus: Ghost Avengers.

Is this a really silly story to make fun of a whole bunch of ghost hunting shows? Of course. Will there be serious bits exploring Marvel characters in this new setting? You bet. Do I have any idea what I'm doing? Only slightly!

I'm a storyteller and this is my first attempt at telling a story through dialogue, thoughts, and art. Why not give it a try? I can always write the rest if this ends up not being what I want to do.

words

Jun. 4th, 2021 11:43 am
seventhe: (Default)

yes i also hate that i posted to tumblr first rather than DW, but i needed to embed the image easily, so that's where i went dont shoot me

word count update is here!

yes: I'm behind my GYWO target. Behind by about 25,000 words going into june. for someone who writes the way i did last year, this isn't too concerning yet, especially because i have two new projects i'm excited about and a bunch of year-old comms i want to dig into for motivation. but like ... like you'll see on the post. life has been A Thing. it's been too much of A Thing. I give up.

also realizing its already june has been a punch to the gut; my brain still thinks it's, like, april. somehow. halfway through the year and i've made no significant progress on either of my two goals for 2021: finishing my first original novel and getting back into shape. i don't know why the turning of the calendar hits like this - i'm of the opinion that the best time to start a project is right now - but if it motivates, i'm going to use it.

i mean, i've been cancelling my two standard weekly original fiction dates lately because i am either overworked or too exhausted, so i only have me to blame, but then again gestures at tumblr post That's A Thing.

anyway im overworked and tired and mad and slowly going crazy, how are yall

(EDITED) to say that every single tag on this post is accurate but while going through my tags i found this and im fucking howling why am i like this

comms 2021

May. 31st, 2021 05:44 pm
seventhe: (Default)

In planning out this year, I am well aware that I have outstanding fic promises that were made. Again, anyone who feels like they've waited far too long can ask for a refund and I'll be happy to provide; otherwise here's where I stand with these things that have been sitting on my table for a year. Look, just let me plead coronavirus for 2020 and let's pretend I'm absolutely on time. we all lost a year. i still want to write your things!

Live Commissions:

  • Roy and Raoul free Tiamat, 7-10K, R
  • Rina’s MCU/Black Jewels Winterwidow crossover, 10K+, E
  • Jes’ FF8 Ghost Hunting Adventures, 7-10K
  • [personal profile] thenicochan, “ Wanda/Vision: Recurrence and Chaos”, 2-4.5K
  • CB, Winterhawk, E, 7-10K
  • Arson?????? I think????
  • [personal profile] auronlu -- some FF fun and craziness
  • [personal profile] queenlua -- some Sokka fic

If you're on this list and tired of waiting please hit me up somehow (here, discord @ Sevdrag#1043, seventhe(dot)net(at)gmail(dot)com, whatever) and we'll talk refund. If you commissioned me and it got lost in space and isn't on this list, please also hit me up.

If you're interested in a comm, keep in mind I won't be taking any new comms until these are done, and even then, I may not open them. That being said, I could use the money, so I'm ... torn. If people are interested, do let me know so that it can affect my decision, lmao.

and yeah, i realize being a year overdue doesn't speak well to my commissioning success, but ...2020, MAN.

seventhe: (Cecil: +100 for COCK)
how the actual big honkin' fuck is it the end of May already?
seventhe: (Default)

Violet doesn't know what to do.

She loves her life, sure. Grew up the star of the household: social and witty, charismatic and funny, she'd always been the center of attention. She'd watched her mother grow up trying to juggle so many dreams - her career, her painting, her family, everyone else's needs - and decided she was going to go ahead and chase her dreams -- her dreams being her mother's abandoned dream, her desire to become an artist in truth. She loves who she's become: she's self-assured and clever, just a bit handy; she can control every room she walks into.

Violet sometimes feels trapped.

She's known she was going to marry Cayenne since she was a young child. Their parents had been best friends - the house across the road - and they were both the first children to be born. Their families had been at it from the start, with the jokes and the comments and posing them in photos together giving each other flowers -- it had been the kind of thing that was a given from the beginning. Indigo and Tangerine, as the second children, had never had to go through this kind of thing; it had always been about Cayenne and Violet, the way they were together, each other's best friends.

Of course they'd been together. It was a given. They'd been each other's boyfriend and girlfriend and partner and first date and Homecoming date and prom date. They'd been each other's first kiss and first fumble and of course they'd been each other's first fumblings and they'd lost whatever counted as virginity to each other, as expected, as she always knew they would.

Violet knows it isn't - say - expected by anyone in their families. It's just inevitable. When you've been with somebody like that, for that long, it's just true love.

And here she is, now. Her father passed a year ago, unexpectedly, and now her mother's gone too -- went while at work, for fuck's sake, too late for any of them to see her before she was gone, body on a slab. Violet's trying to hold it together. Indigo was so close to dad; not as much to mum, sure, but it reminds him of dad, too. Plum and Hyacinthe are torn up, still in high school and wrecked over it. And Violet - Violet who wanted to follow her own mother's dream - has had no time at all to mourn them.

Violet wants Cayenne and she wants to escape in equal shares.

She's dreamed of marrying Cayenne, settling down and building the kind of family she would have loved; Cayenne's bound to be rich with the way he's studied, and Violet herself will be able to launch her own art career slowly, give it the time it takes to be real. They'll have lovely children and support them to be whatever they want in the exact way their own parents didn't.

Tangerine thinks she should leave.

Tangerine, who left years ago when her own parents got pregnant late in life and she got tired of the entire household using her as nothing but support for everything they wanted and she didn't. Tangerine's been scraping out a living in a house with a garden, and while she still visits almost daily, she's distanced herself. Tangerine, Violet's best friend in the world, thinks she needs to move away, to deal with all of her own issues in her own space (that being, of course Tangerine's space, because Tangerine never does anything by halves).

Violet's not ready to leave her home. Violet's not ready to leave Indigo - who's suffering - or the twins, who are volatile.

Violet is so ready to leave her home. She would like to do something for herself for once, to drop all these weights she's carried for years, to just run away from everyone and see who she turns into if she starts over all brand-new.

She doesn't want that. Her family was important. Her parents gave up everything for their kids. Tradition is important.

She calls Cayenne. he'd lost his father recently; he should understand. And he will. They've grown up together, you know.

seventhe: (Aziraphale: great big bugger)

Tangerine moves out the day after mom announces she's pregnant.

She can't; she just can't do it. Two years of her life on hold, taking care of this damn house, cooking and cleaning and studying, and now Mom's having a baby? Mom's always been like this, sure, typical type A always-on always-going, and Tangerine's been happy to help but she is not raising a kid, too.

They don't see her. Mom's always just looking for more of everything, always wanting to know, to get, to have. And Dad trails along happily in her wake, happiest when he's elbow-deep into some other maintenance project, happy when she's happy. And Cayenne's just like the two of them combined, outgoing and ambitious and driven, too caught up in his relationships with Violet and his own job and his own damn sense of self.

None of them see her, there in the shadows, making sure the floors stay clean and the garbage goes out and the fridge has groceries.

Tangerine's tired. She loves her family, but she's tired of it, all the business talk and the amount of time Mom spends on the treadmill and the way her brother treats Violet like a possession sometimes and the way Dad laughs at everything. The only one who ever sees her is Indigo, and that's complicated.

So Tangerine packs the very few things she has, talks her way into a small loan, and moves out.

Her new house is small and simple. The upper floor isn't even finished, but she's always been handy like dad, and it'll be fun putting in things she wants. The best part of it will be the garden she's envisioning: surrounded by trees, and flowers, and her own vegetables to cook with. Tangerine isn't like Mom; she was never meant for an office. She has no idea how she'll pay rent and taxes, but she lives simply; she's excited to live simply, after the bright crush of her family's house.

(She tries to get Violet to come with her. Violet's undecided, though; her friend yearns for freedom, but they just lost Violet's dad, and her mom - with two younger children running around - hasn't recovered yet. Violet hasn't recovered. Violet's so ready to get out of that house, but she's tangled up in a lot of stuff right now, and she's just painting it all away rather than actually doing anything about it. Tangerine won't push her, though. Violet probably has a limit she'll hit just like Tangerine did.)

(There's an empty bedroom upstairs for when she can convince her best friend to join. There's space for another, actually, if she can ever afford the materials, and Indigo could come too.)

She isn't, like... leaving the family. No. She's going to be there to take care of that kid, who deserves someone that will happily share her snacks and change their diaper. She just has to have her own space for once. God knows whether Cayenne will step up and help out, or if he's going to be like Mom, focused more on his own trajectory than those around him. Tangerine loves her brother, but he's becoming a bit unpredictable. He's technically older, but some days it feels like she's the eldest -- or, at least, she's the farthest ahead.

Ahead. Apart. They aren't great words to use for her family. Tangerine's always loved her family. She still does. She just has a limit.

Eventually she'll invite them to her little shack. Mom will bring something native to brighten up her walls, and Dad will grill something traditional, and Cayenne will probably bring Violet and sneak off to make out somewhere in the unfinished basement she can't afford to do anything with yet. She can have the kid over, teach the poor child that it's okay to have boundaries. They're thinking of calling the kid Ginger, regardless of gender. It's a good name.

Mom calls, but it's late, and Tangerine has to work tomorrow. She turns on the television and lets the cell phone ring out.


(please note: i'm trying something new, writing in a particular world as a warm-up for other fic; snippets will all be tagged "rainbow house" as we go along. i'll explain more in a bit.)

seventhe: (Zeromus: HAY GUYS)

So I'm about to launch a comic called Ghost Avengers, which will be my somewhat silly take on an AU where the Avengers are in the ghost hunting business and shenanigans ensue. This was a story idea I had way back when, like 3-4 years ago -- while I was still working in an office! It's an actual story with a plot, sketchily outlined and everything, but had kind of slipped away into the realm of "ideas that are cool but yeah."

Since I've been trying to come up with material I could make into a comic anyway -- once I remembered Ghost Avengers and the worldbuilding work I'd done, I decided it was perfect. Something fun, that I could work on regularly, where I have plenty of ideas for little scenes if I'm every stumped for plot.

The thing is: why a comic? I'm known primarily as a writer, although I dabble in fanart from time to time, and (IMO, anyway) the act of storytelling is my strength. So why a comic? Honestly, really, it's to force me to continually and regularly draw for an ongoing project in a way that will help make me a better artist. That's the goal: regular practice of a thing that other people will (hopefully) like and get into, which will keep ME invested, to improve my skills.

As such, Ghost Avengers will be a pretty text-heavy "comic" -- it's maybe more like an illustrated story, although it will be told in images, rather than text. Dialogue will drive most of the story, since it's so visual. Part of the reason I'm doing ghosts and spirits is because it'll be fun to draw that kind of thing too, so the comic isn't exactly going to be High Art, either. For the ~10 pages I have now I've been using a posing app and lots of references, so I'm not scribbling, but I'm also not spending 5 hours on each page either. I'm hoping the concept and the story will interest people enough that they aren't sitting there comparing it to some professional fancomic all like, man look at this art; I'm not a professional, y'all. This is a fun hobby I've decided to do something with.

As such it's also likely my art style will change as I go along depending on how the story evolves. Oh well! That's the fun of being an artist.

Anyway. I wanted to get these thoughts down somewhere to give some context for the comic itself. It may be different than other comics with the amount of text vs images, but that's intentional, and will probably change as the thing grows.

It's kind of terrifying launching a project like this. Any time I start a new big fic, it's exciting, probably because writing is my forte and I know I'll be able to finish the things as long as I spend enough time on them. This is my first big art project and my brain is kind of going wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee like a wheel spinning really really fast.

Oh well! I'm hoping the first post will be made on Thursday, for weekly updates every Thurs. Updates will be a few pages at a time, with no set rule -- whatever fits the scene. The very first bit I'll post everywhere; following updates will go to my Patreon first, then my Ko-Fi, then public: I'll be posting on Tumblr, Instagram, and AO3, for as long as i can sustain posting all 3 places haha. (This means Patreon will be 2 updates ahead of the rest!)

Who knows. Maybe I will get bored really soon, but I am excited to get into the story, at least. A fun AU! New ghost-detecting technology! Sassy spirits and sarcastic outtakes! It will be fun, at least. I hope.

seventhe: (Cats: I LIKE THEM)

I got my second shot of the vaccine on Wednesday! I then spent yesterday in an absolutely horrible preview of what COVID-19 would have been like in my body, and seriously, thank God and Gramma I didn’t get it, because yesterday was miserable. Fever and feverish chills, shakes, every single atom in my body hurt on a pain level i haven’t had to deal with in a long time, and utter exhaustion — for the first half of the day I just couldn’t stay awake longer than an hour. I did end up taking Tylenol and it helped in the way wearing earplugs at a heavy rock concert helps, I guess: took the edge off, but you know what’s lurking there underneath. It was abysmal. I’ll stop talking about it. Anyway, I feel better today in the way you feel better a few days after you get hit by a truck, but compared to yesterday, I’ll take it.

We’re having work done on the downstairs bathroom so that Feathers (my murder husband) can move into the basement in the middle of May. This is a money-saving move on both of our parts; I’ll get some income from a space I’m not really using, and he’ll get a more affordable rent. The pandemic / quarantine has hit us both financially so we’re going to combine some things for a year or two until we have some more respectable savings available. I don’t really do roommates so it’s really going to be just like a separate rental, except he’ll come up here for the kitchen and I’ll go down there for the laundry. Crown has thrown himself into this, which is great, because up until this week I’ve been absolutely slammed with work. He’s really come through and I am super excited for the extra income.

However, it’s been obnoxious because of course there are all kinds of horrible fucknoises coming from the basement which makes it really headache-inducing and hard to concentrate and yes i know that’s what its like when people are fitting 2x4s into the frame and cutting pipe but wahhh its loud. And I’m v tired of having people in my house.

Around that I’ve been getting ready to launch a few fan projects in May that I’m excited about, trying to survive work, and trying not to get so depressed about gestures at the world in general that i spent 42 hours a day playing Sims 4. I don’t know. Having the second shot means in 2 weeks the world kind of opens up again but I’m just so. Worn. Out. From everything.

Also my birthday is 03 may and I’m turning 39 and that’s just a big ol what the fuck.

seventhe: (Aziraphale: great big bugger)

ever since the beginning of this year when i made it one of my goals to get better and more prolific with art, i've been really, really having to reevaluate my approach. overall i think i've made some pretty significant progress with art, and i need to tell myself that, because part of it is just still disappointing to me.

what i want to be able to do with art is sit down and draw something that's in my head and have it come out more or less like what i want. it doesn't have to be total realism -- i'm sure i'll have a style. it doesn't have to be neat - my art is messy by default. but i want to be able to, like, draw a comic panel or something, in a reasonable amount of time. mostly, it's drawing people that i want.

yeah, im nowhere near that.

my FIRST big adjustment this year was finally getting through my own head that using references isn't "cheating." once i got established in my little corner of the good omens fandom and talked to more and more artists, i finally got it through my brain - and i mean this has been years in my brain rent-free - that using references is something a lot of artists do. some of them will even trace a generic pose before going on to make it their own. this is what has substantially improved my art - FUCKING SURPRISE, SURPRISE - because as it turns out, i can draw nearly anything with a reference, and draw it rather well -- or, well enough to satisfy my internal monologue.

but i know not all artists have to look up 4-5 references and mash them all together if they want to make a piece of art? and i know a lot of artists can sit down and do a doodle that looks great in like a half hour with no refs at all? and that's what i want to be able to do, because sometimes, looking for a reference that fits perfectly is exhausting - takes as long as the art lol - and even then there's something about it that doesn't always feel "yours."

the thing is that for me, art takes time, and whine delayed gratification is haaaaard. but i think i have to get it through my head that at the stage i'm in, art is going to take time. if i could work on one piece a week i could probably put out some pretty good stuff, but my brain is still like "we sit down every night and draw A Thing and then judge it" and like .... jklsdhgksjllgk im not sure what i'm trying to say here. lkashflksahgsdhklg coming out wrong.

i think this is the point on that learning-scale graph where you're in the plateau that you can see what's good and what's wrong about your art (and others' art, which is surprising!) but you aren't good enough to get there. which of course means practice, but it's really hard to practice when you're absolutely failing at your actual goal, which is to sketch (let me reiterate - PEOPLE) reasonably well without a reference.

so i think my SECOND art adjustment of 2021 has to be learning that a lot of good art takes a lot of time, even for 'real' artists, and i should allow myself that time when i'm trying to create things of a certain standard -- and also to learn that the more i draw FROM references, the better i will get at being able to draw WITHOUT them.

i've already come this far just with practice, and for the first time ever i signed up as an artist for the GORBB (reverse big bang) (you can see it here: https://archiveofourown.org/works/29072034) which was a big milestone too. and the work was in the middle in regards to detail and time put in (i'm not going to say, nor judge, on the quality of other people's works, but i was happy with how it ended up, even if there are still things i'd change). i've done a ton of color studies and portraits and things like that, and it has resulted in actual improvement, so i know it works.

it's just stupid, because my brain is whiiiiiining about it, and i know the answer is "art more and learn", but boy howdy do we not want to.

anyway that's thoughts whats the haps anyone want to gimme an art prompt i guess lmfaoooo

seventhe: (Default)

HELLO FRIENDS????? Remember those fandoms we all used to be in? and producing things for? Well, baby, it's time for a nostalgia run, so buckle up your chocobos and get ready to roll. We haven't done a Kiss Battle in years and [personal profile] lassarina and I for one think it's TIME TO DO SO.

This event is open to everyone, even if we aren't DW circlefriends! (feel free to friend me too; i promise i'm not crazy that's a lie). If you aren't on DW, you can still play via anon or OpenID!

The Kiss Battle is simple. Players leave prompts in comments under each specific fandom, using generalized fandom nomenclature: a relationship of some sort, and a concept to inspire other players.

  • For romantic relationship kisses, we use X / Y
  • For platonic relationship kisses, we use X & Y
  • Absolutely open to relationships with more than 2 people involved! X / Y / Z (/ A / B ...) welcome to this party!
  • Prompts can be a word, a sentence, an image, a song lyric; it's a suggestion, rather than a request
  • it's a kiss battle! there will be smooches!

Players then go looking for smoochin' prompts they'd like to fill. Fills can be fic, art, interpretive dance, whatever you're inspired to; they can be filled in a responding comment, or as a link (to AO3, tumblr, etc). FILLS GOTTA HAVE A KISS IN 'EM. IT'S A KISS BATTLE. What counts as a "kiss" is up to you, though -- you can be creative!

  • Fills should use the comment header to let people know what the fill is; please use a format like "X / Y, (title), (rating), (any content warnings that might apply)"
    • "Aerith/Tifa, memorial, G"
    • "Cloud/Squall, just in time, R (blood)"
  • Prompts can be filled multiple times! Don't worry if someone got there first; we love Two Cakes up in this event! The more kisses we get, the better!
  • You can fill as anon if you want/need for any reason
  • You can of course crosspost anywhere you'd like

It's a very simple game, and is meant to be played in good faith without anybody being a shitbag about pairings or characters. We're all too old for this.

Comments or Questions?

FANDOM LINKS Fandoms with compilations and expansions should fall into their titled macrofandom. For example:

  • FFXIII also includes FFXIII-2 and Lightning Returns (FFXIII-3)
  • FFX also includes X-2
  • FFIV includes the After Years

If you need to specify a certain microfandom / singular canon, please do so in the prompt or in the comment header!

FINAL FANTASY I
FINAL FANTASY II
FINAL FANTASY III
FINAL FANTASY IV
FINAL FANTASY V
FINAL FANTASY VI
FINAL FANTASY VII
FINAL FANTASY VIII
FINAL FANTASY IX
FINAL FANTASY X
FINAL FANTASY XI
FINAL FANTASY XII
FINAL FANTASY XIII
FINAL FANTASY XIV
FINAL FANTASY XV
FINAL FANTASY TACTICS
FINAL FANTASY TYPE-0
FINAL FANTASY RECORD KEEPER
FINAL FANTASY BRAVE EXVIUS
BRAVELY DEFAULT
FINAL FANTASY SPIRITS WITHIN
OTHER FINAL FANTASY CANONS
FF CROSSOVER PROMPTS

MAKE FRIENDS! If you're interested in meeting more FF fandom people, this comment thread can be used as a friending meme! Tell us a little about yourself, which FFs you've played, favorite characters/ships, and look around for new friends!

FF FRIENDING THREAD

You can also join the Final Fantasy Old Folks Home Discord and come gripe about those kids on our lawn and the old days where you had to level grind by hand lmao. Open to all FF fans!

BLITZ KISSINS If you already know what smooches you want to write, you don't need to wait for a prompt -- just comment into the relevant fandom thread with your kiss!

REMEMBER It's only fun if everybody plays, so if you leave a prompt, try to fill someone else's!

2020: Words

Jan. 1st, 2021 01:40 pm
seventhe: (SAZH)

Have a lot of things to say about 2020, but let's start on a positive note: writing.

I wrote over 459,000 words in 2020. (1)

that's an average of over 1200 words per day. just under 8700 words per week. this includes fanfic (64%), original fiction (5%), paid work writing (22%), and 'paid' fanfic writing for commissions / Patreon / zines (8%).

i averaged about 5500 words per week of fanfic. that's like, a decent one-shot every single week. certainly didn't see that in the output, but that's because fuckin' everything i write has to be ridiculously long.

out of this year's 290,933 words of fanfiction, 164,535 of them were Old Vines (56%). the rest went into a smattering of works and a bunch of things that haven't been posted yet.

i wrote just about 1800 words per week for pay, which tracks. it isn't solid income, but it counts.

i'm not going to get into the paid / commissions issue here, but i do want to point out that the portion of fanfic words i made this year that indirectly gave me money was only 8% of all of my annual writing, which seems fair.

there were only 3 weeks this year where i wrote absolutely 0 words at all, and one of those is a september week (see 1). My record for words written in one day is just over 8000. There were 149 days this year where I wrote nothing (41%) and 217 days where I did (59%). 217 days of writing means that if i sat down to write on any given day, i would put out an average of 2100 words.

so what does this mean? well first, it means a big fat ol' congratulations to me because this is more words than ive ever written ever in my entire damn life.

and then... )

seventhe: (Aziraphale: great big bugger)
what a bastard of a year.
seventhe: (Crowley: snake stare)
many many thoughts on this year and next year and things i've learnt and things i've lost.

debating a JanNoWriMo or FebNoWriMo event. Anyone interested? Wouldn't even need to be 50K, just pick your target and try to hit it. I can make banners with cat faces on it. It'll be great.

isolation

Nov. 11th, 2020 12:52 pm
seventhe: (Rosa/Rydia: got your back)

(content warnings: i just talk about the shit that's going on rn cause i gotta, but if any of it is triggering for you, be careful or scroll past)

so, as it turns out - as anyone could have predicted - i'm behind AF on nano.

look, a lot of it is that the first week of november got tied up in the hellhole that was america's election. fuck. i had done a lot of research and i knew what to expect and i STILL DIDNT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT. that entire week was draining as fuck and even the relief of them finally calling it for biden was destructive and devastating in its own way. (i cried. i dont ever cry. i fucking bawled.)

and some of it is another lesson in preparation. i have a great outline for this novel! i know all the plot beats for all three plotlines! but i didn't practice getting into either character's voice, so while im still writing, it's very third-person-onmicient type, very distant, rather than the third-person-intimate that im going for.

and ive become STUPIDLY hung up on that! LIKE, ITS STOPPING ME FROM WRITING. i realize i just need to forge ahead and i'll find their voices eventually, but like, brain matter no go. head empty no thots.

SURPRISINGLY, though, if i count all words i've written (including nano, patreon, work words, fanfic, etc) i am on pace to hit the 50K. guess what I might be doing, rather than focusing entirely on the nano words. fml. etc.


my two oldest nieces are coming this weekend for their birthday celebration. when they were young i decided that instead of birthday gifts, what each girl got was a weekend alone, just with me, where we would do super fun things and they get to have all of the focused attention from their aunt and uncle. it's worked great, but this year, because of the rona, their schedules are all fucked up (you would not BELIEVE what my bro and SIL have had to work out to manage both of their jobs with 3 children under the age of 7 at home; it's crazy), and we wanted to limit the travel as well. so both girls are coming together to stay with me, to celebrate together. i'm very excited, but wow, that's also been a whirlwind.

i had to clean the entire house. the thing is, when you've been in house since march, and you're already disabled, and you're depressed, and you're tired, and you have 5 cats, the house can quickly get to a pint where you really give no more fucks about it. hugely. bigly. i had to summon my mum, Crown, and murder husband to help me out with it, but now the house is gorgeously clean and i am happy. doing all the work at once was kind of a sledgehammer to the face tho, RIP me, but i did it.

fought with Crown over a bunch of stuff too. it's resolved and we are in a better place after having it out, but that also hit me like a fucking pickup truck, thanks.

also didnt help nano.


isolation is weird. i dont mind being alone - i love being stuck in my house alone, that's like, my dream world - but i feel like i've hunkered down here in other ways as well. friends i used to talk to daily, i check in like once a week. a BIG part of that is, well, having nothing to really say. my new contract remains in covid limbo, my other work continues, and my desire to write a novel to sell is just aksjdlkasdjggs, so like, ??? why bother to talk, there's no news here, etc.

im also just not very good at staying in touch because of (reasons) and the situation is compounding that and really doubling down on it. how can i reach out to people when im spending most of my mental energy not going completely batshit??? "hey demons. it's me. your boy."

i mean i also feel like other friends are pulling back as well, probably because none of us really have anything new to say. it's just an interesting side effect of isolation, i guess?

plus it's the jazz hands depressssiioooonnnnn ~! for all of us!

i really just exist on discord these days. honestly.


ANYWAY.

i haven't yet given up on the novel, nor have i given up on trying to grow my kofi and patreon to help me out in these terrible times. ([personal profile] crankyoldman, thanks so much for the Kofi! that covers this month's entire Chewy order! <3 <3 aaaaaaa ILU and i miss you guys!!) it's just such a bizarre fucking time to be a conscious thinking creature and that's weird, i guess.


went to target and bought a bunch of men's shirts for the winter. sorry but for what i want men's clothes are vastly superior. you can't get a women's t-shirt that's long enough to go over hips or really be tucked in unless you find a "tunic length" and they're like $25. i got 3 mens tees for $18. i also now have a giant hoodie with thumbholes. bless.

plus big ass sports bras. i just want my tits to be comfortable. dont always bra them, but like when im cleaning they gotta be held. gently. softly cupped in place so that they don't get tossed around too much. i dont know where im going with this.

i just want to be comfortable here in my private cave.


the stasis of isolation. such an odd year it's been this last month.


Ko-fi for the cats || Patreon for CYOA and the novel || Sev's Pub, my creative works discord || carrd for the rest

seventhe: (Default)
(warnings: frank discussion about what the fuck is going on here)

-

i am an average fucking american.

i was up until 4 am last night because i didn’t want to go to sleep and have it be today.

i texted Crown to say i love him and be safe

while last night

MH and i put together a safeplan
in case his store sees rioting
(they've hired security)
or in case his apartment complex does
(it's mostly black)

he has a go bag
and we wondered
whether we should borrow a gun from a friend

(i'd shoot; it's my property)

i fidget. i play with my rings, with my watch, with my mobile.

there's a reason
my pantry and freezer are stocked, so that
i don't have to leave the house for a week or two.

it's only noon, but i still want to start checking

(i also want a bloody mary more than i've ever wanted anything in this life)

(but the truth is)
(i've been drinking far too much this week because i'm scared shitless in that numb sort of way)
(where you have compartmentalized so well
that every time you look into the box
you're scared shitless
like it's a fucking surprise

it's where you keep
your terror now
)

the truth is i've been mourning for four fucking years
and now i'm just
lost

i look gay
i am queer
i'm fat and disabled
i'm sick

i'm on 7 medications

and that's just me;
that's just me ;
that's just: me
an average fucking american in ohio

i think, if i am this scared,
how fucking critical
is this day
for other people?

i hydrate. i hydrate so much that i sing water.

(that's what they say, right? stay hydrated.)
(wear a mask.)
(these things aren't hard.)

i consider a nap.
i check my phone.

the truth is that this country is so fucked up that i have to worry about what will happen when (if) that imbecile refuses to leave
or if he wins
or if he says he wins
because he has all three branches now
even typing this
is making me nauseous

please do not jump in and tell me how horrible and stupid my country is
i am living it
my life is horrible and stupid right now
and that's just me

so many people are worse

(do not come into this space and stranger-splain to me the things i already feel in my palms.
do not criticize.
the wretched despair
of feeling helpless
lives in my stomach now.
with all the water
i keep drinking
to try to feel calm.)

i was up until 4 am last night
comfort-reading

but then i slept
and now it's election day.

i'm spending it compartmentalized
and anxious
and halfway to tears already.

and this is what it looks like
for an average american
in the middle of the country
in the middle of a pandemic
in the middle / at the end
of a terrible man's ruinous term.

i have a blanket
and a glass
of water

and i do not check my phone
seventhe: (SAZH)

Just posting this so as a reference / pin for stuff I have going on right now! Since my job has been delayed AGAIN, I just want a central place to link to for anyone who wants to support my crazy writing endeavors. this is the cash money post, of course.

  • Sev's Pub Discord -- join to get updates on my fanfic work, watch me fail at my first original novel, and holler about writing. There's a NaNo channel too!
  • Patreon (Sevdrag) -- currently running two Choose Your Own Adventure fanfics exclusive to Patreon, where voting tier patrons choose what happens next! One's a Clint Barton CYOA; the other is Good Omens. There will be snippets of my original writing posted for crit and feedback, mostly exclusive to Patreon. Patrons will also have the opportunity to prompt for things in December when the crazy of NaNo is finished.
  • Ko-Fi (Sevdrag) -- in case you can't do the Patreon but have a bit to send my way. For the rest of 2020, if you leave a Ko-Fi with a prompt you'll get a little drabble or a doodle!

and yep that's me begging for money have fun friends

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:31 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags